17 Films I Could Watch Over and Over Again

While I am sure I forgot loads of amazing (and not so good films), here is the countdown of the 17 films with the biggest multiple-viewing-potential.

top-films

17) Wild Things (1998)

Why? Enough twists and turns to last you a lifetime. And Kevin Bacon’s wiener.

16) Invasion (1997)

Why? This is a 3hour long, made for TV film starring Luke Perry (the original teen heartthrob) and Kim Cattrall (the original middle aged BILF, the B stands for bitch). Oh and there are aliens in small rocks and it is awesome!

le_club_des_coeurs_brises_the_broken_hearts_club_a_romantic_comedy_2000_reference15) The Broken Hearts Club: A Romantic Comedy (2000)

Why? Look, this film won’t win an Oscar but it is full of genuine emotions, the love, loss and confusion that comes with finding yourself. Or if you are just looking for some hot dudes, the film features Superman, Timothy Olyphant, Mr Jennifer Aniston and a blonde Zach Braff.

14) Police Academy (1984)

Why? Can you believe this film is 30 years old?! I must admit, it has been a few years since I last saw it and now I might think it is all sexist and inappropriate but a young me could not get enough of these films.

13) Flatliners (1990)

Why? Spooky atmosphere with lots of actors who became household names…and William Baldwin.

12) A Nightmare on Elm Street (1984)

Why? The stuff that nightmares are made of. In fact, all of the Elm Street films are heaps fun and quite scary but it got a little more boring towards the end, when they had figured out how to kill him. I was really too young when I started watching these films.

face_off_still11) Face/Off (1997)

Why? Nicolas Cage and John Travolta are getting each other’s faces transplanted and have a shoot out in a church. Action-nerd-boner.

10) 10 Things I hate About you (1999)/ Save the Last Dance (2001)

Why? Neither of them won an Oscar, however.. it was tough being more entertaining, independent, yet lovable than Julia Stiles around the time of the Y2K hype.

9) Star Trek: First Contact (1996)

Why? I love Trek and have seen all of the TV shows and films multiple times. I might even be able to quote them. Choosing just one of them is tough but I am that generation who grew up with Picard and Data, rather than Kirk and Spock so for me this is the ultimate showdown, Borg and everything.

8) Die Hard (1988)

Why? Where do I start? The ridiculously bad accents of the supposedly German criminals. The over the top cheesy action. The amazingly quotable one-liners. You will end up rooting for McClane all the way.

7) A Few Good Men (1992)

Why? “You can’t handle the truth!”

jon16) The Faculty (1998)

Why? Body snatchers remake with loads of fresh faced people who became super famous. Cheesy, fun and a little scary. Highlight has to be every Josh Hartnett and Famke Janssen scene at the parking lot. Oh and a one eyed Jon Stewart!! 😀

5) Rocky (1976)

Why? Gritty underdog story that still resonates. Contrary to popular belief, the first one is seriously a good film! Made me want to name my imaginary turtles Cuff and Link. Honorable mention to Rocky 4 and 6. Both highly entertaining in their own way.

4) Clueless (1995)

Why? So much potential for epic quotations. A young Paul Rudd. Funny and heartfelt, even 20 years later.

3) It’s a Wonderful Life (1946)

Why? I did not grow up watching it, in fact I was introduced to this Christmas classic during a university course. But Jimmy Stewart’s everyman’s struggle gets me every time. Highlight: “No man is a failure who has friends”… At that point, I might even have shed a tear.

2)  Reservoir Dogs (1992)

Why? Unpopular opinion but this is Tarantino’s masterpiece. His raw talent comes through in the seemingly simple yet highly elaborate staging and blocking, music, his direction to the actors.  I mean..come on! The ear-scene, anyone? The Mexican stand off?!

th (2)1)  Leon (1994)

Why? Gary Oldman is scary as hell! Jean Reno as the anti-leading man. Natalie Portman as one of the few super talented child actors. If I died and was reborn as a film, I would want to be Leon.

Leave a Reply

